ARC Year 4 Summative

The final Summative of the first four-year phase of ARC will be held in Johannesburg South Africa 16-18 February 2016. The nursing and midwifery leadership from the seventeen countries in the east, central and southern Africa region will be attending the Summative. ARC Phase 2 will be launched at the Summative.

ARC meets in Zimbabwe

The second learning session of ARC Year 4 was held in Harare Zimbabwe 10-12 November 2015. Nurse and midwife leaders from 11 countries in east, central and southern Africa attended the learning session (Botswana, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe).
Click here for learning session presentations.

The African Health Professions Regulatory Collaborative (ARC)

The African Health Profession Regulatory Collaborative (ARC) for nurses and midwives is a four-year partnership between the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); the Commonwealth Secretariat; the Lillian Carter Center for Global Health and Social Responsibility at Emory University; the East, Central and Southern Africa Health Community (ECSA-HC); and the Commonwealth Nurses Federation (CNF).

ARC convenes nurse and midwife leaders from participating African countries in the east, central and southern Africa region, for the purpose of facilitating south-to-south collaboration around professional regulatory issues, such as scope of practice, licensing, accreditation of training, and continuing education.


ARC Principal Investigator
Dr Kenneth Hepburn

ARC West and Central Africa established

The first learning session for ARC West and Central Africa was held in Douala Cameroon 20-22 October 2015. Three countries from West and Central Africa were represented: Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Cote D'Ivoire. The meeting of nursing and midwifery leaders from the three countries reported on the initial implementation of their proposals to improve the provision of paediatric HIV prevention, care and treatment. Click here for learning session presentations.

ARC Year 4 grants announced
ARC East, Central and Southern

The following countries have been awarded Year 4 ARC grants to work on the following regulatory projects linked to improving paediatric HIV care and treatment.

* Botswana (scopes of practice)

* Ethiopia (CPD)

* Kenya (CPD)

* Lesotho (HIV training)

* Mozambique (Option B+)

* Rwanda (HIV training)

* Seychelles (CPD)

* South Africa (HIV/TB training)

* Tanzania (CPD/SoP)

* Zambia (CPD/SoP)

* Zimbabwe (HIV training)

The ARC Initiative

This website project was supported by the United States Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Global HIV and AIDS Cooperative Agreement. The content of this website is solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of CDC.