

Board of Delegates Meeting Minutes February 10, 2021

Jurisdictions with Delegate/Alternate Present	Delegate/Alternate Present	Jurisdictions without a Delegate/Alternate Present
Albemarle	Martha Sue Hall	Ansonville
Anson County	Jarvis Woodburn	Belmont
Badin	Deloris Chambers	Cherryville
Bessemer City	Kay McCathen	Cleveland
Cabarrus County	Lynn Shue	Dallas
Charlotte	Larken Egleston	East Spencer
Concord	Andy Langford	Faith
Cornelius	Thurman Ross	Indian Trail
Cramerton	Will Cauthen	Kings Mountain
Davidson	Autumn Michael	Landis
Gaston County	Kim Johnson	Lincoln County
Gastonia	Jennifer Stepp	Locust
Granite Quarry	Bill Feather	Lowell
Harrisburg	Troy Selberg	Marvin
Huntersville	Lance Munger	McAdenville
Iredell County	Gene Houpe	Midland
Kannapolis	Darrell Hinnant	Mineral Springs
Lincolnton	Christine Poinsette	Mint Hill
Marshville	Larry Smith	Misenheimer
Matthews	Ken McCool	Monroe
Mecklenburg County	Elaine Powell	Mount Holly
Mooresville	Bobby Compton	Norwood
Morven	Corinthia Lewis-Lemon	Oakboro
Pineville	Amelia Stinson-Wesley	Ranlo
Spencer	Jonathan Williams	Richfield
Stallings	David Scholl	Salisbury
Stanly County	Peter Asciutto	Stanley
Statesville	William Morgan	Wadesboro
Troutman	George Harris	
Union County	David Williams	
Waxhaw	Pedro Morey and Anne Simpson	
Wingate	Bart Farmer	
w iligate		

Call to Order

Chairman Bobby Compton, Town of Mooresville, called the meeting to order. He welcomed both new and returning Delegates and Alternates.

Roll Call

Kelly Weston, Clerk to the Board, called roll and noted that a quorum was present.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Compton called for a moment of silence.

Amendments to the Agenda

There were no amendments to the agenda.

Consent Agenda

1. Approval of the October 14, 2020 Board of Delegates Meeting Minutes

Mayor Pro Tem Martha Sue Hall, City of Albemarle, made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Commissioner Gene Houpe, Iredell County, seconded the motion.

Note: At this time, Council Member David Scholl, Town of Stallings, raised a point of order, inquiring if nay votes could be counted in lieu of conducting a roll call vote. The Board proceeded to vote on this item and the following agenda items by voicing nays or abstentions. Centralina staff is consulting with the School of Government to determine if this voting method is consistent with state requirements and will address the action at an upcoming meeting, if needed.

The motion carried with Commissioner Elaine Powell, Mecklenburg County voting in abstention.

2. Centralina Overview with Board and Staff Networking

Geraldine Gardner, Executive Director, presented an overview of Centralina, spotlighting examples of the organization's work towards creative regional problem solving, supporting local governments, and providing innovative service delivery.

The Delegates were then divided into breakout rooms for small group discussions.

3. Board Orientation and County Caucusing

Ms. Gardner presented an overview of the Board of Delegates, including its opportunities, structure, the roles of Delegates and the Executive Board, and a forecast of 2021 meetings. She explained that in engaging with members, Centralina is committed to its core values, transparency, proactive communication, flexibility, responsiveness, and working strategically and creatively.

The Delegates from the caucusing counties were then divided into breakout rooms for small group discussions.

Chairman Compton reported the results of the caucuses:

Anson County Municipalities: Council Member Corinthia Lewis-Lemon, Town of Morven Cabarrus County Municipalities: Council Member Troy Selberg, Town of Harrisburg Mecklenburg County Municipalities: Council Member Amelia Stinson-Wesley, Town of Pineville Stanly County Municipalities: Mayor Pro Tem Deloris Chambers, Town of Badin Union County Municipalities: Commissioner Pedro Morey, Town of Waxhaw

4. Nominating Committee Report and Election of 2021 Officers

Mayor Pro Tem Martha Sue Hall, City of Albemarle, noted that the Nominating Committee was comprised of Mayor Pro Tem Deloris Chambers, Town of Badin, Council Member Corinthia Lewis-Lemon, Town of Morven, and herself. She explained that the committee held a conference call in December and decided it was best if the officers remained unchanged for now. She presented the following slate of nominees:

Chairman: Commissioner Bobby Compton, Town of Mooresville Vice Chairman: Mayor Pro Tem Jay McCosh, Town of McAdenville Secretary: Commissioner Jarvis Woodburn, Anson County Treasurer: Mayor Pro Tem William Morgan, City of Statesville

Council Member Larken Egleston, City of Charlotte, made a motion to accept the Nominating Committee report and elect the slate of officers by acclamation. Mayor Will Cauthen, Town of Cramerton, seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

5. Installation of Officers

Ms. Weston administered the oath of office to the officers.

6. Public Hearing on Proposed Centralina Budget Ordinances for Fiscal Year 2021-2022

Denise Strosser, Finance Director, presented the proposed placeholder budget for Fiscal Year 2022. She explained the proposal is based on the Fiscal Year 2020 audited numbers and the Fiscal Year 2021 budget adjusted for non-reoccurring sources and uses of funds. She also proposed that the member assessment remain unchanged at \$0.24. She noted that for Fiscal Year 2022, the organization anticipates a \$1 million funding decrease compared to Fiscal Year 2021 because of the expiration of Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act and Families First Coronavirus Response Act funds. She added that revenue from technical assistance contracts is expected to decrease by \$600,000 as the current CONNECT Beyond project nears completion.

Chairman Compton noted that the notice of the public hearing on the budget was published in the Charlotte Observer on January 31st. He opened the public hearing and invited comments from any members of the public who were present.

Hearing no one, Chairman Compton declared the public hearing closed.

Council Member Egleston made a motion to approve the FY22 operating placeholder budget and the passthrough placeholder budget ordinances in the amount of \$6,668,000 and \$14,562,000, respectfully and to approve the membership dues assessment of \$0.24 per capita with a minimum assessment of \$750 per member. Secretary Woodburn seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

Comments from the Board of Delegates and Centralina Staff

There were no comments from the Board of Delegates or Centralina staff.

Comments from the Executive Director

There were no comments from the Executive Director.

Comments from the Chairman

Chairman Compton noted that Centralina is accepting nominations for the Region of Excellence Awards and will present awards to both smaller towns and larger cities and counties nominated in each category. He also noted that there is a special judge's choice award for COVID-19 response. He added that the nomination deadline is March 29th.

Chairman Compton also noted that the delayed release of 2020 U.S. Census data will impact redistricting timing this year.

<u>Adjournment</u> With no further business to be discussed, Chairman Compton adjourned the meeting at 6:24 p.m.